skip to main content
The American Naturalists Series
NY, Devin-Adair, 1951-1961. Five titles (apparently the complete run) in Devin-Adair's American Naturalist Series, published over the course of a decade. Chronologically, the titles are:
  • John Burroughs' America. 1951. Edited by Farida A. Wiley and illustrated by Francis Lee Jacques. Modest foxing; very good in a very good dust jacket.
  • Ernest Thompson Seton's America. 1954. Edited by Wiley, with Seton's illustrations. Fine in a near fine dust jacket.
  • Theodore Roosevelt's America. 1955. Edited and inscribed by Wiley: "To Jo Kimball - with gratitude for all your help in the compilation of this book." (Josephine Kimball also gets a mention in the printed acknowledgments.) Bit of play in the binding; very good in a very good dust jacket. With illustrations by Ugo Mochi.
  • John and William Bartram's America. 1957. Edited and inscribed by Helen G. Cruickshank in 1978. Cruickshank won the John Burroughs Medal for Flight into Sunshine in 1949. Illustrations by Francis Lee Jacques. Mild foxing; near fine in a very good, price-clipped dust jacket.
  • A Naturalist in Alaska, by Adolph Murie. 1961. This title was a break in the format, being by and about a living naturalist. Inscribed by Murie, in 1962: "To my Alaskan friend, Jack McPhee." Winner of the 1963 John Burroughs Medal. Near fine in a near fine dust jacket. With illustrations by Olaus J. Murie.
There were two more titles slated for this series: Alexander Wilson's America and Washington Irving's America, but we can find no evidence of the either one ever making it into print. [#034645] SOLD

All books are first printings of first editions or first American editions unless otherwise noted.